Making Democracy Work

About the League


What is our mission? How are we structured? What is our history?

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

We serve the cities and counties of Monterey and San Benito Counties. Contact us for more information about the League of Women Voters of the Monterey County. And be sure to check our calendar for upcoming meetings.

Other League Organizations

History of the League of Women Voters of Monterey County

Founded in 1926 in Pacific Grove, the League of Women Voters of the Monterey County is one of the oldest leagues in California. Dr. Alice Wood Fiddes was the first President. Under the direction of the National and State Leagues, it was reorganized in 1927 with 10 charter members and Dr. Fiddes as President. To learn more about our origins, read a short history of the League of Women Voters.

During WWII, LWV Monterey County split into two leagues: LWV of the Monterey Peninsula and LWV of the Salinas Valley. This was due to gas rationing during WWII. In November 2011, a Committee made up of members from the two Leagues began to meet to consider merging for improving communication and efficiencies. In June of 2013, the two leagues merged to form the League of Women Voters of Monterey County.